STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C5-84-2139

ORDER

AMENDMENT OF RULE 105 OF THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT AND OF THE STATE BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR OF MINNESOTA

WHIREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners is charged with the responsibility of administering Rules governing the admission of applicarts to the Bar of Minnesota,

WHIREAS, the National Conference of Bar Examiners, which produces background reports for all attorneys from other jurisdictions who apply in Minnesota, has increased its fee for a character report by \$25,

WHEREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners has recommended that the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar be amended to increase the fee paid in connection with attorneys' applications for admission to the Bar of Minnesota,

NOW, THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Rule 105 of the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar, which is attached hereto and incorporated herein, is hereby amended, adopted, prescribed and promulgated by this Court.

BY THE COURT

DATED: ___11-22-91

A. M. Keith Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

NOV 2 2 1991

FILED

Rule 10! . Fees

- A. General. All fees required under these rules shall be paid in the form of certified check, money order or bank draft and payable to the Board. The fee applicable is determined as of the date of filing of a complete application under Rule 100.
- B. Fee for Examination, Not Previously Admitted. An applicant taling the examination for the first time and making timely filing on or before October 15 for the February examination, or on or before March 15 for the July examination, shall submit a fee of \$300.

An application for the examination submitted after the tirely filing date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$450.

C. Fee for Examination, Prior Admission. An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination and making a timely filing shall submit a fee of \$625 \$600.

An application for examination submitted after the timely filing date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$775 \$750.

An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction less than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination shall comply with paragraph B.

- D. Rereat Examinations. An applicant who has previously been unsuccessful on the examination and filing on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$300 and comply with Rule 100E and Rule 101D(5).
- Fee for Admission Without Examination. An applicant for admission without examination shall submit a fee of \$625 \$600. An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule VI shall submit a fee of \$825 \$800.
- F. Fee for Temporary License for Legal Services Program Practice.

 A fee in the amount of \$50 must accompany an application for Temporary License pursuant to Rule V. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 105B, will qualify applicants under Rule III. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 105C, will qualify applicants under Rule IVA or IVB.
- G. Transfer of Rule V Application to Rule III or Rule IV Application. Documents submitted in support of a Rule V application for license may, upon the written request of applicant, constitute application pursuant to Rule III or Rule IV of the Rules of the Board of Law Examiners, provided additional fees required by Rule 105 are submitted.

H. Refunds of Fees. An applicant may request a refund in the amount of \$50 in the following circumstances:

(1) An applicant who advises the Board in writing at least four days prior to an examination of the applicant's desire to withdraw the application.

(2) An applicant denied permission to take an examination

under Rule 101D(1) or 101D(5).

- I. Carry-over of Fees. The fee of an applicant declared incligible under Court Rule IV shall be applied to an examination held within the succeeding 15 months at the written request of the applicant received within 30 days of notice of the denial. No other transfers of fees shall be granted.
- J. Transfer of Examination Scores. A request for transfer of scores pursuant to Rule 102B shall include a fee of \$10. A score report may be obtained by submitting payment of \$10 to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.
- K. Copies of Examination Answers. An unsuccessful applicant may request copies of the applicant's essay answers upon written request to the Board within 30 days of the release of the examination results and submission of a fee of \$15.
- L. Other Fees. For matters not covered in these Rules, the Director may set reasonable fees which reflect the costs of staff time, services, duplicating, postage, etc.

 (Former Rules V and VIII renumbered and amended October 1, 1986; amended May 25, 1988; amended May 10, 1990; amended June 20, 1990; amended October 31, 1990.)